Claws for the Weekend: Check-In

You may think it a bit impertinent of me to talk about the weekend when I have been missing in action for the past week.

As you know I went down to London for a few days, and the journey back took a lot longer than anticipated. Many roads were closed and traffic at a standstill due to the State opening of Parliament, with the Queen attending to deliver her speech. Armed police and helicopters posed amiably for the tourists. So thank you for that your majesty.

I want to tell her that I love her a lot

But I gotta get a bellyful of wine

Then, once finally escaping onto the motorway and turning our eyes to the north, there was another delay with lanes closed due to a traffic accident. There but for the grace of God….

So my return was a lot more prolonged than I had planned for. I am just getting over my coach-lag,-it didn’t help that the driver thought he could help us pass the time by putting on a tape containing recordings of himself singing different songs on karaoke. It’s murder on the dance floor. Thank God I took along my indispensable ipod.

Now, guess where I am off tomorrow? Yep, you guessed it-back down to London. I have managed to bag myself a ticket for the FA Cup Final at Wembley between my team Manchester City and Wigan Athletic. Cue more traffic saga, armed police and helicopters.

So, racked with guilt as I am about again going AWOL, I thought it best to do a quick check-in, a ‘fleetin’ greet’ to let you know that I am still alive and blogging, and I will tell you about my trips to the capital next week.

Have a great weekend and I will see you on the flipside. Hopefully raising a celebratory glass or two in the process.

One thought on “Claws for the Weekend: Check-In

Leave a Reply

