R.I.P Ray Manzarek

I was just about to retire to bed tonight when I heard of the passing of Ray Manzarek, the great keyboardist with The Doors and the main perpetuator of the Morrison-as-shaman myth.

The group formed after a chance encounter between Ray and Jim on Venice beach. History hinges on such casual, random moments.

I sometimes forget that all those from that psychedelic, hippy generation are now pensioners. The ones that got this far anyway.

Turning now to the great music that you left us.

R.I.P Ray.

From an old Doors fan- give my regards to Mr Mojo Risin’.

photo (2)

2 thoughts on “R.I.P Ray Manzarek

  1. That is right. And exploring the musical family tree. No genre exists outside of influence. And many different influences were identifiable in The Doors music.Roots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

