The Legend of Spring Heeled Jack

I love the old legends and stories of this country. Spring Heeled Jack was a sensation back in the 1800’s-showing up all over the show, but is largely forgotten now. I never knew though that his appearances have allegedly continued into modern times.

Stephen Liddell

With Halloween just around the corner I thought I would share with you the legend of Spring Heeled Jack who was once infamous in Victorian times and yet is now largely forgotten.

Early 19th Century London was a spooky and often dangerous place to be after dark and ghosts were often reported to follow and prey on lone travellers, sometimes even assaulting them. Of these the most prominent was The Hammersmith Ghost who seems to have been active for at least 20 years.

It was in this background that Spring Heeled Jack first came to prominence in the London of 1837 when in October of that year, a young girl by the name of Mary Stevens was walking to Lavender Hill where she was working as a servant, after visiting her parents in Battersea. On her way through Clapham Common, a strange figure leapt at her from a dark alley…

View original post 1,627 more words

4 thoughts on “The Legend of Spring Heeled Jack

  1. This is a new one on me. I’d never heard of this guy!
    When I was a kid, people claimed to have been attacked by a guy known as the Bloomer Man, so named because he supposedly wore ladies’ underwear. The older kids used to scare us younger kids with that story.

    Like

  2. P. S. I haven’t been able to “like” anything in the last week. I know this is a reblog, but my like button hasn’t been loading for some reason for your original posts. I contacted WordPress about this issue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

