Tuesday Life Snippet

I dropped my daughter off at school this morning, then carried on into the town center with a bag of things for the charity shop. I was greeted by a friendly, elderly volunteer as one by one I emptied the bag’s contents onto the counter.

Two jumpers that my mum bought me at Christmas, under the mistaken apprehension that I was seventy years old. Actually, she bought one for me and one for my brother. Then she said that she realised that my brother wore the latest fashions, so I could have his for my birthday too.

It’s the thought that counts. What was she thinking?

Then a book, the title of which I cannot even remember. Something along the lines of The Genealogist’s Internet Bible. Amen to that.

Lastly, a few old CDs. At this, said elderly volunteer gasped :

“Buddy Holly!” (See Mother-who said I wasn’t fashionable?) “I love Buddy Holly! That’s my era!” (Mother-I take it back.)

Then she did something I’ve been thinking about ever since. She placed her hand on my arm, and exclaimed:

“It’s been so long…so long!”

I should have asked. I smiled and said goodbye. But on the short walk home I played it over and over. What has been so long?

Since she has been a fan? Since she danced? Since he died?

I really should have asked, these kind of things can nag at me all day.

It has been so long.

It’s definitely not a song of his.

I googled.

3 thoughts on “Tuesday Life Snippet

  1. My guess is that it’s been so long since she felt so young as she must have been when she was listening to Buddy Holly. Those words, though, made me think of the David Bowie song from Cat People.

    Sorry about your brother. Must be difficult living in the shadow of one so fashionable. 😉

    Like

    • Ah yes-Cat People. The Doors lyrics, though not exactly the same, sprang to my mind-I’ve been down so goddamn long, that it looks like up to me 🙂
      My brother is eighteen months younger than me-he is supposed to have my cast offs. Except I have his, before he’s even cast them on!

      Like

Leave a Reply

