Hammer Chooseday #6:One Million Years B.C

One Million Years B.C (1966) 3/5

image

John Richardson plays a prehistoric man banished from his savage tribe. He leaves behind his own dark haired, cold, volatile people (and Martine Beswick), to find, or rather, be found by, a contrasting tribe of blonde, warm gregarious people (and Raquel Welsh).

Every cloud and all that.

But soon he is banished from there, too, taking his new found mate with him. Popular guy, ain’t he?

image

Being banished in exile has a few perks, yes?

You can bet Martine Beswick won’t take that lying down.

image

Think I can sense a recurring theme here.

According to this film, we learn that prehistoric man had Victorian values:the men went out hunting while the women stayed at home making necklaces and sewing animal hides. Also, even less believable than the fact that dinosaurs and man lived side by side, is the fact that prehistoric women didn’t have hairy legs. And only the men had beards. But I’m not one to quibble.

The adventures of these two tribes play out with a sprinkling of wild beasts and dinosaurs before an apocalyptic ending with an erupting volcano. Even the landscape back then was deadly.

If dinosaurs and people aren't credible, about a, ahem, giant turtle?

If dinosaurs and people aren’t credible, how about a, ahem, giant turtle?

An enjoyable story, it is as much remembered today for Welch in her fur bikini than for Ray Harryhausen’s  dinosaurs.

Let's finish with this shot of Welch, a publicity shot for the film. I can't for the life of me think just what relevance the cross has for the movie. Perhaps one of you guys can come up with some symbolism? To me it just further symbolises why my Mrs won't watch Hammer with me.

Welch, in a publicity shot for the film. I can’t for the life of me think just what relevance the cross has for the movie. Perhaps one of you guys can come up with some symbolism? To me it just further symbolises why my Mrs won’t watch Hammer with me.

6 thoughts on “Hammer Chooseday #6:One Million Years B.C

  1. I also saw this one on TV when I was a kid. I didn’t know who Raquel Welch was. But I remember wondering if prehistoric people really wore clothes like that. Even as a child, I questioned the logic of the film. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

