A R.I.P Snippet

You guys may know, from previous posts, that when growing up, Abba’s Agnetha Fältskog was the first to capture my juvenile heart. If I was to tell you that I still like her now, you must understand that I am speaking of her voice only, tinged with a certain nostalgic sentiment. We have both aged somewhat since back then. And my wife reads my posts.

Anyway, last night, I was scrolling through my Facebook feed, my nosey eight-year old daughter looking over my shoulder. Someone had shared the news that the country singer Lynn Anderson had died, and Millie wanted me to play the accompanying YouTube video of Rose Garden. When it had finished, the links to four other songs appeared on the screen. One was The Winner Takes It All, showing a young Agnetha.

Millie, all wide-eyed: “Has Agnetha died too?”

Me:“Oh God, no.”

Millie:“If she did die, would you be upset? Would you cry?”

Me:“Ask your Mum if she thinks that I would cry.”

Millie (whispering conspiratorially):“If you did cry, she wouldn’t pass you a tissue.”

2 thoughts on “A R.I.P Snippet

Leave a Reply

