Introducing Hammer Chooseday Tuesday. On Monday.

So you guys probably all know by now that I’m an old horror fan, and when I was a kid I loved in particular the old films made by Hammer, or Hammer Horror, as we used to refer to the production company back then. Recently I have begun to either watch for the first time, or rewatch again, their back catalogue of movies. The problem is keeping tabs on what I’ve seen and what I haven’t seen.

Hammer studios was operating, in many genres, between 1935 and 1979. From 2008, the company started releasing horror films again. It is quite an umbrella that covers their work.

image

There is no point me asking my wife about the various films, as she refuses point blank to watch them with me. I tried to get her to watch their very first Dracula film, made in 1958.

She lasted fifteen minutes.

She told me how bad it was. It was like a dagger, or rather a stake, through the heart. I couldn’t believe it, saying to her:

“What do you mean? It’s a classic! What about the part when Christopher Lee’s Dracula closes the door behind himself, and Van Helsing’s fear is palpable as he realises that he is trapped inside the tomb with no less than The Lord of the Undead?” 

“I would rather watch dog shit cooling”

You can see who the real poet in our marriage is, can’t you? The Laureate later elucidated:

“Once you put it on, I knew it wasn’t for me. It was like being out on a blind date, and you are sat at the table thinking ‘I shouldn’t be here’. Do you know what I mean?” 

Oh yes Jen, I know exactly what you mean.

So, not being able to rely on my other half, I thought I would use City Jackdaw to keep a record of what I’ve seen and what I haven’t seen. Don’t worry, I’m not going to get carried away and fill my blog with Hammer posts. God forbid I get all nerdy on you. Not in public anyway. I will just just post a film a week, and I’ve picked Tuesday as Hammer Chooseday is the best I could come up with. I thought of Hammer Film Friday, but that would clash with my occasional Claws For The Weekend posts. And Winding The Wife Up Wednesdays was a non-starter.

You can tell I’ve really thought this through, can’t you?

So every Tuesday, starting tomorrow, I will pick one of Hammer’s horror, science fiction, or thriller films to watch and document. (I have decided to ignore their comedies, as my life span is just not long enough.) It wont be a review, only a brief summing up, as I’m no Barry Norman. Maybe some nice shiny pictures too. Perhaps a poster cover art sort of thing, too, for those of you who like that.

So, if it’s not your cup of tea please bear with me. I will serve you something else up the other six days of the week. Something for you to look forward to while you watch that, you know, dog shit.

Cooling.

This photograph reminded me of the Mrs, radiating excitement as the credits start to roll. Pass me an apple, darling.

image

2 thoughts on “Introducing Hammer Chooseday Tuesday. On Monday.

  1. Great idea!
    Um I guess you can’t win ’em all. Sorry about that. My sister-in-law and I like to watch the Hallmark movies. My brother can’t stand them and refuses to watch even a minute of them.

    Like

    • I love old movies. As well as Hammer, I particularly go for b&w sci fi films, Hitchcock, John Wayne (my Dad’s legacy to me) and watching the old, great, screen legends. Sometimes, I do find it is a solitary pastime of mine 🙂
      I’ve just posted my first ‘Chooseday’ post 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

